Hands in, aca-bitches.

91bAKJ3lMVL._AA1500__event_main

If you do not know what this post will be about in reference to the title, then you need to go to the nearest Redbox, store, etc and get the movie Pitch Perfect. Like seriously. If you’ve never seen it, stop reading this and watch it. I am not kidding. If I had to choose between watching that movie and reading a blog post, I would most definitely choose Pitch Perfect. Hands down. Now that I’ve stressed how IMPORTANT it is for you to WATCH Pitch Perfect, I will move along with my post. If you choose to ignore my advise, then you stink, and you will be left out of the wonderful things I will be saying about one of the best things that came out of 2012. But hopefully, if my begging didn’t do anything, this post will make you want to see it ASAP.

Pitch Perfect, directed by Jason Moore and written by Kay Cannon (30 Rock) stars Acadamy Award-nominated Anna Kendrick (Up in the Air, 50/50), Anna Camp (The Help, True Blood), Brittany Snow (Hairspray), Rebel Wilson (Bridesmaids), and Skylar Astin (Spring Awakening–Broadway). What a cast, right?! (I’ll make sure to mention many characters, because I am a nerd like that)

Pitch-Perfect-img-07The movie follows Beca (Kendrick), a college freshman attending Barden University. Her dream in life is to go to LA and become a DJ, much to her father’s dismay (who is a professor at BU). However, he makes a deal with her. If she interacts and gets involved with groups around campus, and takes her classes seriously, he will allow her to drop out after one year and go to the City of Angels. Beca joins the Barden Bellas, an all-woman a-capella group who notoriously made a distasteful impact at last year’s championship. The Barden Bellas’ two seniors, Aubrey (Camp) and Chloe (Snow) have to lead a new crop of Bellas: an Australian who likes to be called Fat Amy (Wilson), the stereotypical slut Stacie (Alexis Knapp), incredibely inaudible Lilly (Hana Mae Lee), closeted lesbian Cynthia Rose (Esther Dean), and a few others whose characters are more minor. Throughout the movie the Bellas face off the Treblemakers, the other BU a-capella group, which is all male. Bumper (Adam DeVine) leads the pack of cocky guys, and are a strict no-no for the Bellas. However, a new member, Jesse (Astin), kindles a friendship with Beca, the probability of it leading to something more. Benji, a fellow freshman, magician, and quirky, Star Wars-loving nerd, is roommates with Jesse, and is a guy you feel sad for the whole movie because of his “weirdness” preventing him from getting on the Treblemakers.

Okay, well that was a really long summarization of the movie…Anyways, this movie has awesome songs that you will absolutely love. I do. I listen to the album every day. I get so into it, that I start doing some of the dance moves from the movie. Everyone in this movie is a natural singer. The biggest surprise? Anna Kendrick. That girl can SING! And after finding out that her first job in the biz was on Broadway, where she earned a Tony nomination at age 12, it just solidified my love of her voice even more. Here are three links that show her pre-Pitch Perfect, during Pitch Perfect, and post-Pitch Perfect. *Side note: In the first link, isn’t she so darn cute?!*

1. Performing at Carnegie Hall: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T0l3WemmIjI

2. On David Letterman for Pitch Perfect promotion: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o_9i9Q7KIrU

3. Performance at the Trevor Project Benefit: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LhBHMZqg8YE (excuse the voices, this is someone’s self-made video)

Now, of course, everyone else is amazing. Of the guys, Skylar Astin’s voice just makes every girl’s heart melt (or guy’s heart…I won’t leave you fellas out!). All of the actors in this film had a reharsal program before filming to train in singing a-capella and dancing. Although everyone could sing, they needed to learn the specificities of a-capella, as you are using your voice to make different instruments. I found a video on Youtube that is a behind-the-scenes look at their “a-capella boot camp.” Here is the link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kUZNxvxgsNE

pitch-perfect-movie-poster-21

This movie is very Mean Girls-esque, as the characters and lingo in it become legends, if you will. Fat Amy will go down in history. Aubrey’s many “aca” phrases will be used in normal conversation. Which brings us to my post title. “Hands in, aca-bitches” is one of the many variations Aubrey, among other characters, uses for “aca.” Aca-scuse me? Aca-awesome. Aca-believe it. Aca-awkward. The list could go on, because you could use it for anything. For example, some that weren’t in the movie that anyone could formulate: aca-disgusting, aca-what?, aca-sexy

You all should know by now that I am obsessed with the movie. Well, I am, and I’m proud of it! I’m proud that I have seen it multiple times in one day. I’m proud that I have seen the movie with commentary. I’m proud that I learned the rap to “No Diggity” and rap along in the movie and soundtrack. I’m proud that I’ve seen basically every interview with members of the cast. I’m proud that since seeing the movie, I formed a girl crush on Anna Kendrick. Seriously, what girl wouldn’t have a girl crush on her? She’s one of the coolest people on this planet. Just look at her tweets or instagram pictures. She’s the epitimy of cool. I’m proud that as I write this blog post, I am listening to the soundtrack. Really, I am.

If this didn’t convince those of you who haven’t seen the movie to see the movie, than I don’t know what will. Your loss, really. Your life will just be less awesome. Until I write to you wonderful readers again, tada aca-bitches!

pitch-perfect-whysoblu-4

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment